Today is my last day at Mailchimp 💌

I’ve been eagerly watching this day approach. Slowly. Steadily. 

I’ve been as eager about my last day as I was about my first day at MailChimp — Feb 16, 2015.

I was so SO excited about joining MailChimp and making one of my long-time (~2y long) dreams come true that I threw a get-together at one of my favorite coffee shops in Atlanta — Dancing Goats. Which is also where I attended a Mailchimp info session some months before that.

I was so SO excited about getting started with Mailchimp that I created an electronic invite to my coffee-place-get-together using 🥁 Mailchimp!!! (link)

Anyone who had ever helped me with anything Mailchimp-job-search-&-prep related–no matter how micro or macro level––was invited.

e-invite designed in MailChimp with love, Feb 2015

7 years 6.5 months later, today is my last day.

I’ve been as excited to leave Mailchimp as I was to join!

More specifically though, it’s not that I’m excited to leave — deciding to leave was a difficult decision. More accurately, I’m excited about the next chapter of my life, and eager to get started with that. So eager, that yet again, I’ve started working the necessary muscles already! 

Deciding to leave was a difficult decision because I’ve truly enjoyed my time at Mailchimp, both in terms of people and the work. Working there was a dream come true, yes, and also, being there also gave me the opportunity to realize some other dreams I already had on my bucket list. It also helped me birth new dreams and achieve those as well!

It’s hard to break up with someone or something, especially when the relationship has been mutually beneficial and valuable for such a long time. But all things change in due time. All things live their course, their purpose, then transform into something different 🐛🦋

Therefore, the decision to leave also came easily because I feel complete with my work here, and also feel being called to new adventures ✨ the calls of my new adventures are getting louder and louder, and I must answer! 

I am truly, genuinely, from the bottom of my heart, grateful for the time I got to spend at Mailchimp, and.. 
· for the opportunities that were given to me 
· or the opportunities that I seized
· for the growth that I’ve experienced here
· and the incredible knowledge I’ve gained 
· by working with immensely smart, passionate, and empathetic people 
· across so many disciplines

I believe that each of us is a result of everyone we’ve ever met and everything that we’ve ever experienced. I want to express that I wouldn’t be who I am or where I am today if it weren’t for the 7.5yrs of being with the people I was with and the work we did together at Mailchimp. 

Dear Mailchimp & Peeps, 

Thank you for being such a special part of my life and truly, seriously, changing my life ♥

I love you, and you will always hold a special place in my heart.

Cheers to a wonderful three-quarters of a decade! From employee #396 to #something-thousand-something at Intuit, it’s been a transformative journey! 

So long Freddie von Chimpenheimer IV ⛵💼✈🌎🗼

I love that this poster says ‘Launching September 1st’ because tomorrow is Sept 1st #synchronicities ⛵💼✈🌎🗼

3 responses to “Today is my last day at Mailchimp 💌”

  1. […] been a week since I posted about my last day at Mailchimp 💌, what next? […]

  2. […] days ago was my last day at a job, I wrote about it here. I quit without a job lined up. I quit because I found my next […]

  3. […] days ago was my last day at a job, I wrote about it here. I quit without a job lined up. I quit because I found my next […]

Leave a comment